Sausage Sizzle

Posted on

Apologies our sausage sizzle at Safety Bay did not go to plan as the BBQ’s weren’t working.

So you don’t miss out Elaine will be putting on a sausage sizzle at next Sunday’s run at Garvey Park for everyone to enjoy.

Sports Massage

Posted on

Student Massage clinic at South Metro TAFE now available. They are looking for anyone that is training for an event and would be interested in using massage to help them manage or prevent an injury.

Please click on the flyer below for more information and how to apply:

Sports Massage Clinic Flyer

2020 Sunday Programme

Posted on

The programme is now on the website – right side bar.
Sunday runners can now use this to select their preferred helper dates for when the renewal form becomes available on 25th November.

AWA Life Members

Posted on

Congratulations to our following members who have been awarded Life Membership with Athletics WA at their recent AGM:

Barrie Kernaghan along with Bob and Lynne Schickert for many years dedication as athletes and officials.

Well done Bruce

Posted on

Congratulations to Bruce Wilson on being awarded Life Membership of Athletics Australia. Read this tribute to Bruce.

Bruce Wilson life membership

AMA Super Weight

Posted on

AMA has announced the introduction of the Super Weight as an AMA Competition Event.

The event will be conducted at the AMA Winter Throws Championships and can also be conducted at State Club level as an optional Weight Throw event. The event will not be conducted at the AMA National Championships.

There will be State and Australian records introduced for the Super Weight Event. There will be no change to the 56lb and 100lb Events or Records. Please click on the following links for more information:

Super Weight Rules

AMA Winter Throws 2020

MAWA Coaching

Posted on

Our five MAWA coaches have confirmed the arrangements for the 2019/20 season. All welcome. See the website for details – right sidebar

AGM Minutes

Posted on

The AGM Minutes 13 October 2019 are now on the website for viewing – just look under “Our Club – About Us”

Vale Bjorn Dybdahl

Posted on

Club stalwart and prolific medallist on every level, Bjorn Arne Dybdahl crossed life’s finish line on Saturday, October 12, with the dignity and integrity he raced with. Bjorn was a long time member of Masters, often completing the short run followed by the long run in handicapped days when time permitted, while partner Deb Wolfenden competed in the walk.

Proudly Norwegian born, Bjorn was competitive on the world stage for Australia across a range of events, being a valuable team member in cross country teams on many occasions. His natural speed was combined with sheer hard work, building his endurance to a level where in 2001 he placed third in the open Sri Chinmoy 100km road event in 9:10.43. A fine steeplechaser, a finalist at world level over 800m and one of the finishers in the marathon where the stadium was to witness distressed finishers in the severe heat. There was one certainty, Bjorn would finish and he did.

Bjorn was a great pacemaker, and always David’s number one choice to help him achieve his World Records.

Bjorn was able to converse on a myriad of subjects with depth and knowledge, despite a hearing loss and English being his second language. Passionate, but never loud, intellectual, but never condescending he was a popular man, a fierce competitor and a much loved grandfather, father and partner. He will be missed….

Bjorn’s funeral will be held at Karrakatta at 10.30 AM on Wednesday 23rd October

AGM Report

Posted on

Thanks to everyone who attended the AGM 13 October for your great support!

Special thanks to Elaine and all the morning tea helpers it was delicious!

Minutes and new Committee Contacts will be put on the website in due course under “Our Club” – “About Us”

Your new Committee was elected as follows:

President – Richard Blurton

Vice-President – Andrew Cuthbertson

Secretary – Delia Baldock

Treasurer – Gary Fisher

Committee Members:

  • Mark Howard
  • Silke Peglow
  • Pam Thonell
  • Janne Wells

Special thanks to retiring committee Jim Langford and Giovanni Puglisi for all their fantastic work!

It is also great to see more of our newer members coming on board the Committee.

Congratulations to the winners of the following awards which were presented at the AGM:

Achievement Award: Road – Ngaio Kerr

Achievement Award: Track & Field – Andrew Ward

John Gilmour Trophy – Melissa Foster

President Pins – for outstanding volunteers:

  • Maurice Creagh
  • Carol Bowman