John Gilmour Trophy

John Gilmour was a gifted young athlete whose career was interrupted by WWII. During his service, he was a POW and returned to Perth virtually blind and emaciated. He resumed his career against all physical odds and from 1946 became a world-class runner, holding records from 1500 metres to the marathon.
This award was for the best performance of the year up to 2019. From 2020 it has been awarded to the MAWA Athlete of the Year.
A list of the winners appears below:

1995-1996 Roy Fearnall
1996-1997 David Clive
1997-1998 David Carr
1998-1999 David Clive
1999-2000 David Carr
2000-2001 Lyn Ventris
2001-2002 David Carr
2002-2003 David Carr
2003-2004 David Carr
2004-2005 Lyn Ventris
2005-2006 Lyn Ventris
2006-2007 Lyn Ventris
2007-2008 David Carr
2008-2009 David Carr
2009-2010 David Carr
2010-2011 Lyn Ventris
2011-2012 Lyn Ventris
2012-2013 Lyn Ventris
2013-2014 David Carr
2014-2015 David Carr
2015-2016 Wendy Seegers & Rob Colling (joint winners)
2016-2017 David Carr
2017-2018 Lyn Ventris
2018-2019 Melissa Foster
2019-2020 Paul Jeffery
2020-2021 Barbara Blurton
2021-2022 Todd Davey
2022-2023 David Carr*

* Awarded pothumously


Latest News …


2023/24 membership fees are $60 for Metro and $50 for Country

Follow this link for new membership or elapsed members wishing to rejoin – Membership Form

Helper Registration

Follow this link to register as a helper – Helper Registration



Sunday programme 2023 – 2024

Track and Field

Winter programme 2024

2023/2024 Coaching/Training Programme

Upcoming Events